Qualification Synopsis:

The Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace is a qualification aimed at Supervisors and Managers with a direct responsibility for health and safety management. The qualification is intended for learners already working in the capacity of supervisor or manager and those who are preparing to start work at this level.

Learners gaining this qualification will know that supervisors and managers have legal and moral obligations to ensure health and safety within a business and that this includes obligations to employees, contractors, visitors and suppliers. Its subject areas are regarded by the Health and Safety Executive as being important to developing safe working procedures in the workplace.

Qualification Structure:

Qualification Structure This qualification is made up of one mandatory unit, the details of which are included at the end of this document. Learners must successfully complete the assessment for the unit to achieve the qualification. This qualification can be taken as a free-standing qualification or as part of a wider program of training.

Course Duration

Five days Classroom based training

How is the qualification assessed?

This qualification is assessed in two parts:
Part 1 Centre-set and marked assessment of 2 sections.
Learners are expected to undertake the following activities:

  • Section 1 Undertake a risk assessment
  • Section 2 Construct a safe system of work

Part 2 Examination consisting of 2 sections with a total duration of 2.5 hours.

  • Section 1 contains 30 multiple-choice questions. Total marks available in this section are 30.
  • Section 2 contains 6 longer written questions from which the learner answers 4 of their choice. Total marks available in this section are 70.
Learners must achieve a pass in both parts of the assessment in order to achieve the qualification. This qualification is graded Pass, Merit or Distinction and the learner's grade will be determined by the total combined mark achieved from both sections of the examination. Learners will achieve a Pass at 60% overall, a Merit at 70% and a Distinction at 80%.

Enquire Now !